Wrapping it up, the epic saga of Isaac Asimov’s Robot and Foundation Universe – Prologue

Almost three years ago I set out on a massive project to read all 36 of the books in the Robot and Foundation Universe. The main thing that prompted me to start this project was an eBay auction that had a specific book I was looking for (The End of Eternity, which is loosely connected to this project) and several other books which I’ve already read. I purchased about 16 books in a lot for about $35 total. After finding this deal I decided to try and purchase every book in the series, which I eventually accomplished.

After reading the first few books I discovered that I only remembered a few main facts about these books that I have read many years before. I guess I should state that I had already read 80% of the books in this series before, but in order of publish, not chronologically. I was amazed that a book I’ve read before could be so pleasing to read again, almost like it was a new experience. The main difference was that I knew the overall plot, and could focus on the vague details that made these books so attractive.

Partway through the beginning of my project, I realized how much work I was doing, and didn’t want to ever forget or lose this experience. I started taking detailed notes about the plot and themes in the novels. Eventually I decided to register this domain and dedicate my time to creating reviews to publish. The timeline that I was basing my reading off of was completed by Johnny Pez, which graciously gave me permission to update and host here on The Science Fiction Review.

I’ve tried my hardest to keep major spoilers out of my reviews, but have kept detailed notes on most of my readings so that I could return to them at a later time to discuss things that hopefully someone that has read these books could appreciate. I think that anyone would benefit from what I hope to write in the next few months, but it would be a shame to spoil the story for anyone.

I plan to do a multi-part series of entries that discuss the main parts of this series that drew me back in for a second time. I’ll also try to explain why I think that if anyone was to read the series just ONE time, it should be chronologically, rather than in order of publish. I think that if anyone would be able to make that recommendation, it should be me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please prove you are a human * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Post

Isaac Asimov’s Robot City Book 2: Suspicion by Mike McQuayIsaac Asimov’s Robot City Book 2: Suspicion by Mike McQuay

Robot City 2: Suspicion book cover

This review will most likely contain spoilers for any previous books in the series, read at your own risk.

After escaping from the alien Aranimas, and subsequently the space station that rescued them, Derec and Katherine find themselves miraculously transported to Robot City. They used the Key to Perihelion, a device that somehow allowed them to travel instantly across the galaxy. I like this idea because it is twist on space travel that allows the authors to work out unique plot elements throughout the rest of the series. Derec and Katherine arrive to find themselves the only 2 suspects in the murder of a human in a city full of robots.

It seems they’ve just traded one prison for another. Since they are the only humans on the planet, according to logic the robots think that one of them must have commited the murder, because no robot could have. This book revolves around Derec and Katherine’s investigation into the murder they are accused of at the end of Odyssey. Suspicion reminds me a bit of Elijah Baley’s murder investigations in Asimov’s original Robot Novels. The style is notably different, but the murder-mystery element kept me thinking back to the originals.

Isaac Asimov’s Utopia by Roger MacBride AllenIsaac Asimov’s Utopia by Roger MacBride Allen

Utopia book cover

About five years has passed since the New Law robots were put to work at Purgatory to assist with the terraforming effort for Inferno. Alvar Kresh won the election for governor and ended up choosing a dual terraforming system combining a positronics with a super computer. In an unexpected turn, Kresh ended up marrying Fredda Leving. Initially I thought that they made a rather odd couple, but I think Allen did a good job of handling their relationship throughout this book. The main plot Utopia revolves around a plan by a scientist to harness a comet and blow it apart to dig a huge channel from the southern ocean to the frozen northern ice cap which would otherwise be impossible by conventional means. (more…)

God Emperor of Dune by Frank HerbertGod Emperor of Dune by Frank Herbert

God Emperor of Dune Book Cover

Frank Herbert goes in a completely new direction with his fourth book in the Dune series, God Emperor of Dune. This novel has quite a different feel than the first three. The setting takes place 3500 years after the ending of Children of Dune. Dune’s ecological transformation is complete except for a small patch of desert. As a result of the transformation, the sandworms (and the supply of new spice) died off. Leto has almost completely transformed into a sandworm, and has taken over as leader of the galaxy. He’s been working on his “Golden Path” all this time while sitting on the last big hoard of spice. (more…)